Skip to content

Events

S M T W T F S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 
 
 

Newsletter

Subscribe!

Penal proceedings

Table of contents

Clicking on a link enables you to scroll the page to the pertinent secion:

Infraction report
Transmission of your plea
Guilty plea and payment
Plea of not guilty
Default of transmitting a plea and the total amount claimed
Inaptitude points
Preliminary requests
Right to a lawyer
Hearing
Change of plea
Request for postponement
Judgment
Retraction of judgment
Right to appeal

Infraction report

A penal proceeding begins at the time of the notification of an infraction report. The notification can be given to you by the peace officer at the time of infraction, or following the perpetration of the infraction by mail or from a bailiff.

Return to table of contents

Transmission of your plea

You have the obligation to transmit a plea of guilty or not guilty within thirty (30) days following the date of notification. If the defendant is a moral person, the signature of one of his (her) administrators or other directors is required. It is incumbent upon you to assure the reception by the municipal court office of your plea or your payment within the prescribed time line. It is the date of reception and not the date it is sent that constitutes the date on which the plea is made.

Return to table of contents

Pleading guilty and payment

If you wish to plead guilty to the alleged infraction, please use the response form attached to your infraction report to:

  • record a plea AND 
  • pay (in Canadian funds) the total amount claimed; 

The plea can be entered and the payment sent by mail or made in person at our Chateauguay district municipal court offices at 265 D'Anjou Blvd., suite 101, Chateauguay, Quebec J6J 5J9.

The payment can be made by cheque or money order, in the name of VILLE DE CHATEAUGUAY, or at most financial institutions. A debit card is also accepted for payments made in person. Visa and Mastercard credit cards are exclusively accepted via the CONSTATS EXPRESS on-line payment service. No credit card is accepted at the court counter or by telephone.

In default of transmitting your plea within 30 days, the total amount of the fine and additional costs will  be imposed. If you are not in a position to pay the total amount, you can come to a payment agreement with the collector of fines, in return for additional costs. You must present yourself at the municipal court to agree to the modes of payment of this entente.

When the defendant has entered a guilty plea or has paid the total amount of the money due, he is reputed to have been declared guilty of the infraction.  

Return to table of contents

Plea of not guilty

If you plead not guilty to the infraction, you must record a written plea on the response form of your infraction report. If you have lost it, fax the Plea form herein attached and send it to us within the required time line. Your plea must be transmitted within thirty (30) days from the notification of the report, to the address indicated on the response form.

If the defendant is a corporation, the signature of one of its directors or another officer is required. The signatory must mention its quality.

If you plead not guilty to the offense, you must record a plea in writing on the response form of your statement of offense. If you have lost it, download the enclosed Form (French) and send it to us within the required time. You can also dispute it online on the CONSTATS EXPRESS website. Your plea must be sent within thirty (30) days of service of the statement, to the address indicated on the answer form.

You must also indicate your new address, telephone number and email, if applicable. You will be notified by the court clerk of the place, date and time set for the hearing of the proceedings.

Return to table of contents

Default of entering a plea or paying the total amount due

The defendant who does not transmit neither a plea nor the total amount of the fine and costs claimed, is then reputed to have entered a plea of not guilty. The case is then investigated and the judgment is rendered without further notice.

Return to table of contents

Inaptitude points

The inaptitude points indicated on the report are of a suggestive nature only. The inscription of inaptitude points on the defendant's dossier lies exclusively in the domain of the Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ).

Return to table of contents

Preliminary requests

To ensure your defence, you can present, along with your not-guilty plea, preliminary requests prescribed by articles 168 to 186 in the Penal Proceedings Code.

Return to table of contents

Right to a lawyer

You have the right to consult a lawyer before you enter a plea or present a preliminary request.

Hearing

You must present yourself at the municipal court on the date and time indicated on the hearing notice.

Please bring to the hearing your infraction report and all other papers or documents that you wish to put into evidence (photos, sketches, bills, etc.). The elements of proof deposited will be kept in the court file for a period of 30 days following the pronouncement of final judgment or sentence. After the expiration of the time line for making an appeal, if no appeal is lodged you will be able to remove from the file in exchange for a receipt an item that you have produced, providing it was not seized. To do this, kindly present yourself to the court clerk.

At the hearing, the plaintiff reserves the right, among other things, to produce as proof the notice of the infraction or the infraction report to hold a place for the testimony of the peace officer or the person in charge of the application of the law who delivered the notice or the report, as well as the right to have witnesses heard.  

However, if you desire to cross-examine this peace officer or this person, you must request his or her presence in writing from the municipal court prosecutor. The judge will nevertheless be able to impose costs on you if you are found guilty and if he is convinced that the documentary proof would have been sufficient and that the witnesses had nothing substantial to add. 

Once the presentation of the proof is  terminated in these proceedings, you will be able to present your defence, testify, produce papers and have your witnesses heard, if the case may be. It is incumbent upon you to summon your witnesses, if there are any.

Return to table of contents

Change of plea

Conforming to article 166.2 of the Penal Proceedings Code, you can modify your not-guilty plea and register a plea of guilty. If this is the case, it is mandatory that you advise the court in writing (download the Change of Plea form before the investigation and hearing of the case).

Return to table of contents

Request for a postponement

If you absolutely cannot be present on the fixed date, you must present to the judge a duly signed request for postponement in writing, specifying the reasons why you cannot attend on that date. (Download the Request for postponement form).  The reasons invoked must be serious and well motivated.

 

All such requests must be produced in writing to the court clerk at least three clear legal working days before the scheduled presentation date. The request to change the date is done in writing and you must absolutely provide a serious and well-motivated reason for having the date changed. This request can be contested by the prosecutor of the proceedings.

It is at the judge's discretion to grant or reject the postponement. In case it is rejected, a default judgment will be rendered in your absence. If the postponement is granted, a new date will be set according to the availabilities of the court.

Kindly communicate with the court clerk to find out the available dates. It should be noted that the postponement costs according to the Judicial Tariff in effect will be enforced if you are found guilty of the infraction of which you are accused.

 

Return to table of contents

Judgment

A defendant has thirty (30) days from the date when a guilty verdict is rendered to pay the amount owed, unless the judge grants further delay.

Return to table of contents

Retraction of judgment

The request for a retraction of judgment is a legal procedure that permits the defendant who was condemned by default to ask a judge to reverse that judgment and obtain the right to a new hearing. This request must be filed within fifteen (15) days of the date when the defendant was made aware of the judgment. You must have ”serious reasons” to request a retraction of the judgment. Only the judge is empowered to evaluate the seriousness of your motives.

A non-refundable judicial cost will be charged to you when you deposit your request with the court clerk. The request for a retraction of the judgment is not subject to the right of appeal and does not compensate for the negligence of a defendant. In order to avoid proceedings and needless costs, it would be preferable to consult a lawyer in order to see whether this recourse applies to your case.

The municipal court staff is not in position to inform you and is not empowered to give you a legal opinion. (Download the Request for a Retraction of Judgment form).

Return to table of contents

Right of appeal

You have thirty (30) days to appeal a municipal court judgment at Superior Court. For more information, please consult a lawyer. Municipal court staff is not in position to inform you and is not empowered to give you a legal opinion.

Return to table of contents

Last update: 2019-11-27 16:14

Passer au contenu
Bris d'aqueduc sur la rue Primeau

Infolettre

Abonnez-vous!

Procédures pénales

Table des matières

Cliquer sur un lien, permet de faire défiler la page vers la section pertinente :

Constat d'infraction
Transmission du plaidoyer
Plaidoyer de culpabilité et paiement
Plaidoyer de non culpabilité
Défaut de transmission d'un plaidoyer et du montant total réclamé
Points d'inaptitude
Demandes préliminaires
Droit à l'avocat
Audition
Changement de plaidoyer
Demande de remise
Jugement
Rétractation de jugement
Droit d'appel

Constat d’infraction

Une poursuite pénale débute au moment de la signification d’un constat d’infraction.  La signification peut vous être faite par agent de la paix au moment de l’infraction, ou après la perpétration de l’infraction par la poste ou par huissier.

Retour à la table des matières

Transmission du plaidoyer

Vous avez l'obligation de transmettre un plaidoyer de culpabilité ou de non culpabilité dans les trente (30) jours qui suivent la date de signification. Si le défendeur est une personne morale, la signature d'un de ses administrateurs ou autres dirigeants est requise.  Il vous incombe de vous assurer de la réception par le service de la cour municipale de votre plaidoyer ou de votre paiement dans le délai prescrit.  C’est la date de réception et non celle de l’envoi qui constitue la date du plaidoyer.

Retour à la table des matières

Plaidoyer de culpabilité et paiement

Si vous désirez plaider coupable à l'infraction reprochée, veuillez utiliser la formule de réponse jointe à votre constat d’infraction pour :

  • Consigner un plaidoyer ET 
  • Payer (en argent canadien) la totalité du montant réclamé; 

Le plaidoyer et le paiement peuvent être effectués par la poste ou en personne à nos bureaux à la Cour municipale commune de Châteauguay, située au 265, boulevard D’Anjou, bureau 101, Châteauguay (Québec) J6J 5J9.

Le paiement peut être effectué par chèque ou mandat poste, à l'ordre de la VILLE DE CHÂTEAUGUAY, ou dans la plupart des institutions financières. La carte débit est également acceptée pour les paiements faits en personne.  Les cartes de crédit Visa et Mastercard sont acceptées uniquement via le service de paiement en ligne CONSTATS EXPRESS.  Aucune carte de crédit n’est acceptée au comptoir ou par téléphone.

À défaut de transmettre avec ce plaidoyer, dans le délai de trente (30) jours, la totalité du montant d'amende et de frais réclamés, des frais supplémentaires pourront être imposés. Si vous n'êtes pas en mesure d'acquitter immédiatement le montant total réclamé, vous pouvez convenir d'une entente de paiement avec le percepteur des amendes, moyennant des frais supplémentaires.  Vous devez vous présenter à la cour municipale pour convenir des modalités de paiement de cette entente.

Lorsque le défendeur a transmis un plaidoyer de culpabilité ou a payé la totalité du montant réclamé, il est réputé avoir été déclaré coupable de l'infraction.   

Retour à la table des matières

Plaidoyer de non culpabilité

Si vous plaidez non coupable à l'infraction, vous devez consigner un plaidoyer écrit sur la formule de réponse de votre constat d’infraction.  Si vous l’avez égaré, télécharger le formulaire Plaidoyer ci-joint et nous le faire parvenir dans le délai requis.  Votre plaidoyer doit être transmis dans un délai de trente (30) jours de la signification du constat, à l'adresse indiquée sur la formule de réponse.

Vous devez également y indiquer votre nouvelle adresse et votre numéro de téléphone, s'il y a lieu.  Vous serez avisé par le greffier de la cour de l’endroit, de la date et de l'heure fixés pour l'instruction de la poursuite. 

Retour à la table des matières

Défaut de transmission d'un plaidoyer et du montant total réclamé

Le défendeur qui ne transmet ni plaidoyer, ni la totalité du montant d'amende et de frais réclamés, est alors réputé avoir transmis un plaidoyer de non culpabilité. La poursuite est alors instruite et le jugement rendu sans autre avis.

Retour à la table des matières

Points d'inaptitude

Les points d'inaptitude indiqués sur le constat ne le sont qu'à titre indicatif. L'inscription des points d'inaptitude au dossier du défendeur relève exclusivement de la Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec.

Retour à la table des matières

Demandes préliminaires

Pour assurer votre défense, vous pouvez présenter, avec votre plaidoyer de non culpabilité, les demandes préliminaires prévues aux articles 168 à 186 du Code de procédure pénale.

Retour à la table des matières

Droit à l'avocat

Vous avez le droit de consulter un avocat avant de remettre un plaidoyer ou de présenter une demande préliminaire.

Audition

Vous devez vous présenter à la cour municipale à la date et à l’heure indiquées sur l’avis d’audition.

Veuillez apporter, à l’audition, votre constat d’infraction ainsi que toute autre pièce ou tout document que vous souhaiteriez mettre en preuve (photos, croquis, factures, etc.).  Les éléments de preuve déposés seront conservés dans le dossier de la cour pour une période de 30 jours suivant le prononcé du jugement final ou de la sentence.  Après l'expiration du délai d'appel, vous pourrez, si aucun appel n’est logé, contre récépissé, retirer du dossier une pièce que vous avez produite, à moins que cette pièce ne soit saisie.  Pour ce faire, veuillez vous présenter au greffe de la cour. 

Lors de l’audition, le poursuivant se réserve le droit, entre autres, de produire comme preuve le constat d’infraction ou le rapport d’infraction pour tenir lieu du témoignage de l’agent de la paix ou de la personne chargée de l’application de la loi qui a délivré le constat ou le rapport ainsi que de faire entendre des témoins.

Cependant, si vous désirez contre-interroger cet agent de la paix ou cette personne, vous pouvez requérir, par écrit, sa présence auprès du procureur de la cour municipale. Le juge pourra toutefois vous imposer des frais si vous êtes déclaré coupable et s’il est convaincu que la preuve documentaire aurait été suffisante et que les témoignages n’ont rien ajouté de substantiel.

Lorsque la poursuite aura terminé la présentation de la preuve, vous pourrez présenter votre défense, témoigner, produire des pièces et faire entendre vos témoins le cas échéant. Il vous incombe d’assigner vos témoins, s’il y a lieu.

Retour à la table des matières

Changement de plaidoyer

Conformément à l’article 166.2 du Code de procédure pénale, vous pouvez modifier votre plaidoyer de non-culpabilité et enregistrer un plaidoyer de culpabilité.
Si c’est le cas, vous devez obligatoirement aviser la cour par écrit (télécharger le formulaire de Changement de plaidoyer avant instruction).

Retour à la table des matières

Demande de remise

Si vous ne pouvez absolument pas être présent à la date fixée, vous devez présenter au juge une demande de remise par écrit dûment signée en y indiquant les motifs pour lesquels vous ne pouvez être présent (télécharger le formulaire de Demande de remise).  Les motifs invoqués doivent être sérieux et motivés.
Toute requête ou demande doit être produite par écrit au greffe au moins 3 jours juridiques francs avant la date de sa présentation.  La demande de changement de date se fait par écrit et vous devez absolument donner une raison sérieuse et motivée pour laquelle la date doit être changée.  Cette demande peut être contestée par le procureur de la poursuite.

Il est de la discrétion du juge de l’accorder ou de la rejeter.  En cas de rejet, un jugement par défaut sera rendu en votre absence.  Si elle est accordée, une nouvelle date sera fixée selon les disponibilités du tribunal.

Veuillez communiquer avec le greffe pour connaître les disponibilités.  Il est à noter que des frais de remise selon le Tarif judiciaire en vigueur seront exigés si vous êtes trouvé coupable de l’infraction qui vous est reprochée.

Retour à la table des matières

Jugement

Un défendeur a trente (30) jours à compter de la date où le jugement de culpabilité a été rendu pour acquitter le montant réclamé, à moins que le juge lui ait accordé un délai différent.

Retour à la table des matières

Rétractation de jugement

La requête en rétractation de jugement est une procédure légale qui permet au défendeur qui a été condamné par défaut, de demander à un juge de renverser ce jugement et d'obtenir le droit à une nouvelle audition. Cette requête doit être déposée dans les quinze (15) jours de la prise de connaissance du jugement. Vous devez avoir des «motifs sérieux» pour demander une rétractation de jugement. Seul le juge est habilité à évaluer le sérieux de vos motifs.

Un frais judiciaire non remboursable vous sera chargé lors du dépôt au greffe.  La requête en rétractation de jugement n’est pas un droit d’appel et ne pallie pas à la négligence d’un défendeur.  Afin d’éviter des procédures et des frais inutiles, il serait préférable de consulter un avocat afin de voir si ce recours s’applique à votre cas.   Le personnel de la Cour municipale n’est pas en mesure de vous informer et encore moins habilité à vous donner un avis juridique.  (Télécharger le formulaire de Demande en rétractation de jugement).

Retour à la table des matières

Droit d’appel

Vous avez 30 jours pour en appeler d’un jugement de première instance à la Cour Supérieure.  Pour plus d’informations, veuillez consulter un avocat.  Le personnel de la Cour municipale n’est pas en mesure de vous informer et encore moins habilité à vous donner un avis juridique.

Retour à la table des matières

Dernière mise à jour: 2013-09-24 15:24