Skip to content

Events

S M T W T F S
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 

Newsletter

Subscribe!

Partnership project between Châteauguay police and CAVAC

Wednesday, 30 October, 2013

The Châteauguay Police department is pleased to announce the setting up of a pilot partnership project in collaboration with the Centre d’aide aux victimes d’actes criminels (CAVAC) in the Montérégie. The project envisages the creation of a service point at the premises of the Police department as of November 5, 2013.

Over the past few years, several studies, including some that were centred on victims of crime, showed the need to review the services rendered to crime victims. It was with this in mind that CAVAC – a community organization serving victims of crime and the judicial system since 1988 – is setting up a pilot partnership project that will eventually extend to include Kahnawake and the Mohawk Peacekeepers.

This pilot project is aimed at improving policing services offered to victims of crime in the Montérégie. As a result, a CAVAC victim service agent will be stationed at the premises of the Châteauguay Police department (situated at 55, Maple Boulevard). The role of the agent will be, among others, to inform police officers, sensitize them about the importance of a prompt and adequate intervention with victims, to consider victims as a priority and serve as a quick reference to various community and institutional stakeholders. 

“The setting up of such a project will encourage an approach that is better suited to victims of crime among police officers and investigators of our department” explains Stéphane Fleury, director of the Châteauguay Police department.

The presence of a service agent for crime victims in the Police department will enable victims to have direct access to services offered by CAVAC. 

These services include the following:

•  post-traumatic and psychosociolegal intervention;

•  information on the rights and remedies of crime victims, including the Victims Compensation Program (IVAC);

•  technical assistance to fill out forms;

•  referring victims to specialized services (legal, medical, social and community resources, etc.);

•  accompanying victims through the legal maze throughout the entire legal process.

The service agent will tour the various partners and community organizations as soon as he takes up duties at the Police department. 

“In addition, steps have already been taken with people in the communauty of Kahnawake to create possible partnerships and offer services within their community” explains Catherine Cartier, executive director of CAVAC in the Montérégie.

For more information on this pilot project, contact:

Mr. René Beauchemin, Inspector, at 450.698.3203 (Châteauguay Police department)

Mrs Catherine Cartier, Executive director, 450.670.3400 (CAVAC)

Last update: 2013-10-31 15:12

Publication

Passer au contenu

Mise en place d'un projet pilote avec le CAVAC

Mercredi, 30 octobre, 2013

Le Service de police de Châteauguay, en collaboration avec le Centre d’aide aux victimes d’actes criminels (CAVAC) de la Montérégie, est heureux d’annoncer la mise en place d’un projet pilote de partenariat. Le projet, qui prévoit la création d’un point de service dans les locaux du Service de police, débutera le 5 novembre prochain.

Au cours des dernières années, plusieurs études, dont certaines réalisées auprès des personnes victimes d’actes criminels, ont démontré qu’il y avait lieu de revoir les services rendus aux personnes victimes. C’est à la lumière de ce constat que le CAVAC – un organisme du milieu bien établi auprès des personnes victimes et du système judiciaire depuis 1988 – met en place un projet pilote de partenariat qui sera éventuellement étendu à la communauté de Kahnawake ainsi qu’aux Mohawks Peacekeepers.

Ce projet pilote vise à améliorer les services policiers offerts aux personnes victimes d’actes criminels de la Montérégie. Ainsi, une agente de service aux victimes du CAVAC travaillera dans les locaux du Service de police de Châteauguay (au 55, boulevard Maple). Cette personne aura pour mandat, entre autres, d’informer les policiers, de les sensibiliser à l’importance d’une intervention rapide et adéquate auprès des personnes victimes, de prioriser les dossiers des victimes et d’effectuer une référence rapide auprès d’autres intervenants, tant communautaires qu’institutionnels. 

« La mise en œuvre d’un tel projet va favoriser chez les policiers et enquêteurs de notre Service une approche mieux adaptée à la situation de la personne victime d’un acte criminel », souligne Stéphane Fleury, directeur du Service de police de Châteauguay.

La présence d’une agente de service aux victimes au sein du Service de police permettra aux personnes victimes d’avoir un accès direct aux services offerts par le CAVAC. 

Ces services incluent notamment :

•  intervention post-traumatique et psychosociojudiciaire;

•  information sur les droits et recours de la personne victime d’un acte criminel dont le programme d’indemnisation des victimes (IVAC);

•  assistance technique nécessaire pour remplir divers formulaires;

•  orientation de la personne victime vers des services spécialisés (ressources juridiques, médicales, sociales et communautaires, etc.);

•  accompagnement de la personne victime auprès de l’appareil judiciaire pendant tout le cheminement du dossier.

Une tournée des différents partenaires et des organismes communautaires sera entamée par l’agente de service aux victimes dès son entrée en poste. 

« Par ailleurs, des démarches ont déjà été entamées auprès des gens de la communauté de Kahnawake afin de créer d’éventuels partenariats et de leur offrir des services de proximité », précise Catherine Cartier, directrice générale du CAVAC de la Montérégie.

Pour plus d’information sur ce projet pilote, vous pouvez communiquer avec :

M. René Beauchemin, Inspecteur, au 450.698.3203 (Service de police de Châteauguay)

Mme Catherine Cartier, Directrice générale, 450.670.3400 (CAVAC)

Dernière mise à jour: 2013-10-31 15:12

Publication