Skip to content

Events

S M T W T F S
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 

Newsletter

Subscribe!

Access to documents request (SPVC)

Procedure to access documents held by the Service de police de Châteauguay (SPVC)

Event report, calling card, certificate of qualified technician

To request a copy of an event report, calling card, qualified technician certificate or any other document, you must send your written and signed request by completing the Information access request form (in French). The request and payment (cash or Interac) can be made in person at the Police Department. To proceed by mail, you must send the application and payment by money order to the attention of:

Responsible of access to information request 
Service de police de Châteauguay
55, boulevard Maple
Châteauguay (Québec)  J6J 3P9
Fax: 450 698-3323
Email: document@police.chateauguay.ca

Procedure for making an access to information request

To obtain copies of reports containing your personal information, you should send your request to the person in charge of access to information and protection of privacy by using the access to information request form. You only have to print it, fill it out and sign it before sending it to us by mail or email.

Please note that the request must be detailed enough to allow us to find the relevant documents (e.g., author, subject, file number, date, place, brief description of the event and given name, family name and date of birth).

Your personal information may not be forwarded to a third party without your written consent, except in circumstances provided for under the Act respecting access to documents held by public bodies and the protection of personal information.

*Personal information concerning third parties and information having an impact on the administration of justice and public security is not usually accessible.

Coroner

All files concerning a violent or unnatural death must be the subject of a coroner’s investigation. A request for access concerning this type of file should be sent to the coroner’s office at:

Coroner en chef Édifice Le Delta 2, bureau 390
2875, boulevard Laurier Québec (Québec) G1V 5B1
Téléphone : 418 643-1845
Sans frais : 1 866 312-7051
Télécopieur : 418 643-6174

Accident report

To obtain a copy of an accident report, you have to contact your insurance company that will contact the police department to obtain it on your behalf, or complete the Information access request form (French).

Timeline

The timeline set by law is 20 calendar days. On an exceptional basis, this delay can be extended by 10 days. In such a case, an extension notice will be given to you in writing.

Identity

You must indicate your name, your current full address and your telephone number. Do not forget to put your signature at the bottom of the letter or form. In all cases, you must attach a copy of a piece of government-issued identification such as a health insurance card, driver's license or passport. The ID must include your signature and photo and the copy must be easily readable.

Cost

Fees may apply under the Règlement sur les frais exigibles pour la transcription, la reproduction et la transmission de documents et de renseignements personnels. To proceed by mail, you must send the application and payment (check or money order) to the address above.

Restrictions to the right to access a document

The Service de police de la Ville de Châteauguay can, according to the grounds set out in the Act respecting Access to documents held by public bodies and the protection of personal information (the Access Act), refuse access to a document in whole or in part when its disclosure would be likely to have an impact on the administration of justice and public security, e.g.:

• Hinder the progress of an investigation;
• Reveal investigation methods;
• Jeopardize a person’s security;
• Harm a person who has provided information or who is the subject of information.

The same would apply if the personal information contained in the request did not concern you.

 

Personal information

Personal information, that is, information that makes it possible to identify a physical person, is confidential except in certain cases envisaged by law. As a result, the release of such information can only be authorized by the person who is the subject of such information. The access to information officer is responsible for protecting such information. 

In case of refusal

If access to a document or personal information is denied, the person making a written request may, within 20 days of the decision of the person responsible, submit a request for review to the Commission d'accès à l'information. For more information, contact the Commission d'accès à l'information at 1-888-528-7741 (toll-free).

It should be noted that only requests made in writing may be subject to review by the Commission d'accès à l'information.

Useful links

Any other request for documents held by the Ville de Châteauguay should be addressed in writing to the person in charge of access to information and the protection of privacy.

Division greffe et contentieux
Édifice de la Mairie
5 D'Youville Boulevard
Châteauguay, Quebec  J6J 2P8
By fax: 450 698-3317
By email: documents@ville.chateauguay.qc.ca

Last update: 2020-05-27 10:19

Publication

Passer au contenu

Infolettre

Abonnez-vous!

Demande d'accès aux documents - Sécurité publique

Demande d'accès aux documents détenus par le Service de police de Châteauguay

Pour demander une copie d’un rapport d’événement, d’une carte d’appel, d’un certificat de technicien qualifié ou de tout autre document par courriel, vous devez adresser votre demande écrite et signée en remplissant le formulaire de demande d’accès à l’information. La demande et le paiement (comptant ou Interac) peuvent être faits en personne au Service de police. Pour procéder par courrier, vous devez envoyer la demande et le paiement (par chèque ou mandat-poste) à l'attention de: 

André Delorme
Conseiller aux affaires policières et responsable de l’accès à l'information
Service de police de Châteauguay
55, boulevard Maple
Châteauguay (Québec)  J6J 3P9
Téléphone : 450 698-3323
Courriel : document@police.chateauguay.ca

Procédure d’accès aux documents

Pour obtenir les rapports qui comportent des renseignements personnels vous concernant, vous devez adresser votre demande d’accès au responsable de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels en remplissant le formulaire de demande d’accès à l’information. Il vous suffit de l'imprimer, de le remplir et de le signer avant de nous le faire parvenir par la poste ou par courriel.

Veuillez noter que la demande doit être suffisamment précise pour nous permettre de retrouver les documents pertinents (p. ex. : auteur, sujet, numéro de dossier, date, lieu, brève description de l’événement ainsi que prénom, nom et date de naissance).

Vos renseignements personnels ne peuvent être transmis à des tiers sans votre consentement écrit, sauf dans certains cas prévus à la Loi sur l’accès aux documents des organismes publics et sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

*Ne sont généralement pas accessibles les renseignements personnels concernant les tiers ainsi que les renseignements ayant des incidences sur l’administration de la justice et la sécurité publique.

Rapport  d’accident 

Pour obtenir une copie d’un rapport d’accident, vous devez compléter le formulaire de demande d’accès à l’information ou contacter votre compagnie d’assurance afin qu'elle effectue les démarches en votre nom auprès du Service de police.

Délai

Le responsable de l’accès aux documents accusera réception de la demande. Une réponse sera envoyée dans les vingt (20) jours suivant la réception de la demande. Un délai supplémentaire de dix (10) jours peut parfois être nécessaire.

Identité

Vous devez indiquer votre nom, votre adresse actuelle complète, ainsi que votre numéro de téléphone et ne pas oublier d’apposer votre signature au bas de la lettre ou du formulaire. Dans tous les cas, vous devez joindre une copie d’une pièce d’identité émise par un gouvernement, par exemple une carte d’assurance maladie, un permis de conduire ou un passeport. La pièce d’identité doit inclure votre signature et votre photo et la copie doit être facilement lisible.

Frais

Des frais peuvent s'appliquer en vertu du Règlement sur les frais exigibles pour la transcription, la reproduction et la transmission de documents et de renseignements personnels. Pour faire une demande par courrier, vous devez envoyer la demande et le paiement (par chèque ou mandat-poste) à l’adresse ci-haut mentionnée.

Restrictions au droit d'accès à un document

Le Service de police de la Ville de Châteauguay pourrait refuser de communiquer un document ou d'en confirmer l'existence s'il contient notamment des renseignements pouvant entraver le déroulement d'une enquête ou d'une procédure judiciaire, dévoiler des méthodes d'enquêtes, mettre en péril la sécurité d'une personne ou causer préjudice à une personne qui a fourni le renseignement ou qui en fait l'objet.

Renseignements personnels

Les renseignements personnels, soit ceux qui permettent d'identifier une personne physique, sont confidentiels sauf dans certains cas prévus par la loi. Leur divulgation ne peut donc être autorisée que par la personne concernée par ces renseignements. C'est le rôle du responsable de l'accès à l'information de les protéger. 

En cas de refus

Si l'accès à un document ou à un renseignement personnel est refusé, la personne ayant formulé une demande écrite peut, dans les 20 jours de la décision du responsable, soumettre une demande de révision auprès de la Commission d'accès à l'information. Pour avoir plus d'information, communiquez avec la Commission d'accès à l'information au 1 888 528-7741 (sans frais).

Il est à noter que seules les demandes faites par écrit peuvent faire l'objet d'une révision par la Commission d'accès à l'information.

Dernière mise à jour: 2019-02-08 10:55

Publication